Quick Links
Skip to main contentSkip to navigation

Creighton Community Public Schools


Ajax Loading Image


Minutes - workshop Jan. 5, 2017

A workshop of the Board of Education of the Creighton Community School District No. 13 was held on January 5, 2017 at 5:00 p.m. in the High School Library.


Notice of the meeting was posted at the City Offices, front door of the high school, front door of the elementary, and in the Creighton News.


Notice of the meeting was simultaneously sent to all the members and a copy of their acknowledgment and receipt of notice and agenda is attached to these minutes.  Availability of the agenda was communicated in the advance notice as was the notice to the members of this meeting.  All proceedings hereafter shown were taken while the convened meeting was opened to the attendance of the public.  The agenda for the meeting is attached and incorporated into these minutes.


President D. Morrill called the meeting to order at 5:11 p.m.


D. Morrill announced that the Open Meeting Laws Act Poster was displayed on the wall.


Members present: Dan Morrill, Kay Morrill, Colleen Farnik, and Dixie Hanefeldt.  President D. Morrill excused Tim Gragert due to military service and Gene Suhr.


Others Present:  Principal Nilson, Secretary Hoffman, board member elect Duane Fanta, board member elect Greg Kuhlman and a district patron.   


Shari Becker from the Nebraska Association of School Boards was present to discuss the superintendent hiring process.  A timeline was set up for the process.  On January 26, Shari will return to meet with district stakeholders to get feedback from them about what they would like to see in a new superintendent.  She will meet with the board at 7:30 that evening.  Candidate applications will be reviewed on February 16th and the interviews will take place on February 22nd and 23rd.  The results of the board survey about what they want in a new superintendent were also reviewed and a list of potential interview questions was shared for examination.


At 7:19 p.m., K. Morrill moved to adjourn.  Seconded by Hanefeldt.  RCV:  4-0.  Gragert and Suhr excused.  Motion Carried.  The next regular meeting of the Board of Education will be held on Monday, January 9, 2017, at 7:00 p.m. in the high school library. 


                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                        Jennifer Hoffman, Secretary