Quick Links
Skip to main contentSkip to navigation

Creighton Community Public Schools


Ajax Loading Image


Minutes- February 11, 2019

The regular meeting of the Board of Education of the Creighton Community School District No. 13 was held on February 11, 2019 at 7:00 p.m. in the High School Library.


Notice of the meeting was given in advance thereof by publication in the Creighton News, as shown by the Affidavit of Publication attached to the minutes.  Notice was also posted at the City Offices, front door of the high school, and front door of the elementary.


Notice of the meeting was simultaneously sent to all the members and a copy of their acknowledgment and receipt of notice and agenda is attached to these minutes.  Availability of the agenda was communicated in the advance notice as was the notice to the members of this meeting.  All proceedings hereafter shown were taken while the convened meeting was opened to the attendance of the public.  The agenda for the meeting is attached and incorporated into these minutes.


The meeting was called to order by President Morrill at 7:00 p.m. Morrill announced that the Open Meeting Laws Act Poster was displayed on the wall.


Members present: Kay Morrill, Dixie Hanefeldt, Greg Kuhlman, Amy Borgmann, and Matt Fritz.  Duane Fanta arrived at 7:06.


Others Present:  Superintendent Thompson, Principal Nilson, Secretary Hoffman, and district patrons.   


The Pledge of Allegiance was said.


Kuhlman moved to approve the agenda, seconded by Fritz.  RCV:  5-0.  Fanta excused.  Motion Carried.


There was no public comment.


Hanefeldt moved to approve the consent agenda of monthly financials, January 14th meeting minutes, and the ESU 1 SPED Service contract for 19-20.  Seconded by Kuhlman.  RCV:  5-0.  Fanta excused.  Motion Carried.  


  1. Reports:  

Superintendent Thompson shared a school board resolution from the Nebraska Legislature with the board.  He attended the NASB Legal Conference in January and explained that the senators visited with the group about their priority bills.  Two potential school calendars for 19-20 were shared.  The main difference between the calendars is if students come back from Christmas vacation on January 2nd or 6th.  He was a member of the Advanced Ed external review team for Pierce in January.  After conducting this review, he learned a lot of things that the external review team will look for when they come to Creighton next year.  He feels the review format is tougher than it has been in the past.  He has set up a e-meeting for Sparq meetings at 7:30 p.m. tonight.


Principal Nilson updated the board on upcoming school activities.  The sophomores took the pre-ACT on Monday and the juniors will begin ACT prep this week in preparation for the statewide ACT on April 2nd.  Last year we received a grant for over $4,000 of archery equipment for PE and the students have been using the equipment the last few weeks in high school PE.  The fourth through seventh grade classes will participate in a science day conducted by Kellen Conroy from ESU 1 on February 19th.  The school improvement team continues to prepare for the external visit.  The crisis team will be attending training with Dr. John Dudley later this week. 


At 7:30, the board conducted an online meeting with Nicole Kobus from NASB about the SparqsData Solutions paperless board meetings.  She explained that Sparqs is a web-based system used for conducting board meetings.  All materials are shared with board members online on a permission-based system.  The system allows users to add notes to the documents when they review them.  Tier 2 of the system allows users to search past agendas, minutes, policies, and documents to find information they are looking for. One hundred and thirty-one schools currently use this system in Nebraska.  Tier one would cost $1,500 a year, with a $500 one time set up fee.  Tier two would be $2,500 a year with the same one time set up fee.  The system can typically be up and running within a few weeks.  When the presentation was complete, the board discussed the program.  Superintendent Thompson will talk to some area schools that use it for their feedback. 


President Morrill updated the board on upcoming workshops.  The board committees were revised.  She shared upcoming work that committees need to focus on over the next month.  She listed the board goals and the progress on each one.  The NASB monthly update was distributed.


There was no correspondence. 


Discussion/Action Items:


  1. Kuhlman reported that the negotiations committee and the CTA had settled for the 2019-2020 school year.  The base salary will increase to $35,550.  He noted that wording was changed in the master agreement to state that any teacher that did not get a planning period would be compensated and that the statement saying when personal leave could be granted was stricken.  The extra duty schedule was reviewed, and changes made as agreed on by both parties.  The insurance deductible went up $100.  Fritz moved to approve the negotiated agreement with a base of $35,550 and the changes as stated in the negotiations committee report.  Seconded by Hanefeldt.  RCV:  6-0.  Motion Carried.
  2. There were five applicants for the special education position.  After conducting interviews, the administration offered the position to Jessica Gragert.  Fanta moved to approve the hiring of Jessica Gragert for the SPED position.  Seconded by Kuhlman.  RCV:  6-0.  Motion Carried.
  3. The board listened to and discussed the Spaqr e-meetings presentation earlier in the meeting.
  4. Fanta moved to approve Morrill’s attendance at the NRCSA legislative issues meeting in Lincoln on March 5th.  Seconded by Fritz.  RCV:  6-0.  Motion Carried.  Fanta moved to approve Morrill’s attendance at the NRCSA spring conference in Kearney on March 21 and 22.  Seconded by Hanefeldt.  RCV:  6-0.  Motion Carried. 


The following bills were paid:


At 8:29 p.m., President Morrill adjourned the meeting.  The next regular meeting of the Board of Education will be held on Monday, March 11, 2019, at 7:00 p.m. in the High School Library.  

                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                        Jennifer Hoffman, Secretary