Quick Links
Skip to main contentSkip to navigation

Creighton Community Public Schools


Ajax Loading Image


Minutes August 30, 2016 Special Meeting

 A special meeting of the Board of Education of the Creighton Community School District No. 13 was held on August 30, 2016 at 7:00 p.m. in the High School Library.


Notice of the meeting was given in advance thereof by publication in the Creighton News, as shown by the Affidavit of Publication attached to the minutes.  Notice was also hung at the City Offices, front door of the high school, and front door of the elementary.


Notice of the meeting was simultaneously sent to all the members and a copy of their acknowledgment and receipt of notice and agenda is attached to these minutes.  Availability of the agenda was communicated in the advance notice as was the notice to the members of this meeting.  All proceedings hereafter shown were taken while the convened meeting was opened to the attendance of the public.  The agenda for the meeting is attached and incorporated into these minutes.


President D. Morrill called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m.


D. Morrill announced that the Open Meeting Laws Act Poster was displayed on the wall.


Members present:   Dan Morrill, Kay Morrill, Colleen Farnik, Dixie Hanefeldt, and Gene Suhr.  Farnik moved to excuse Tim Gragert due to military obligations.  Seconded by Hanefeldt.  RCV:  5-0.  Motion Carried.     


Others Present:  Superintendent Petersen, Principal Nilson, Secretary Hoffman, and district patrons.   


The Pledge of Allegiance was said.


Farnik moved to approve the agenda.  Seconded by Suhr.  RCV:  5-0.  Gragert excused.  Motion



Public Comment:  Visitors were welcomed and the new public comment paragraph was read.  There was no public comment. 


Farnik moved to approve the consent agenda.  Suhr seconded the motion.  RCV:  5-0.  Gragert excused.  Motion Carried.


Superintendent Petersen reviewed several handouts with the board.  Minutes from the finance committee meeting were reviewed.  Superintendent Petersen explained what each fund can be used for and shared prior years’ and the current year’s estimated account balances, expenditures, and transfers.  Property valuations increased by 8.13% to $513,878,172 for the 2016-2017 school year.  State aid dropped by $100,000 to $27,719.  Superintendent Petersen then went through the 2016-2017 Budget Adopted Form, explaining what each column was.  The money requested for the building fund, along with money in the depreciation account, will be used to help pay for the new HVAC system.  The Notice of Budget Hearing and Budget Summary were reviewed.  The levy was also looked at.  The proposed levy for the general fund will drop from $0.793020 to $0.530290.  The Qualified Capital Purpose Fund is proposed to decrease from $.007379 to $0.06401.  The proposed building fund levy will increase to $0.137355 from $0.009858.  The total levy for this year would then be $0.674045, a decrease from $0.810257.


Two option enrollment requests were reviewed, one for a fourth grader to Verdigre and one for a junior to Verdigre.  K. Morrill moved to approve the option enrollment requests.  Seconded by Suhr.  Farnik – yes, D. Morrill – yes, Hanefeldt – abstain, K. Morrill – yes, Suhr – yes.  RCV:  4-0.  Gragert excused.  Motion Carried.    


The board discussed upcoming NASB meetings.  D. Morrill, K. Morrill, and Farnik would like to attend the state NASB conference.  K. Morrill will attend the labor relations conference and Farnik will attend the area membership meeting.  Hanefeldt moved to approve the registration for these board members, seconded by Farnik.  RCV:  5-0.  Gragert excused.  Motion Carried.



The following bills were paid:


At 7:54 p.m., Farnik moved to adjourn the meeting.  Hanefeldt seconded the motion.  RCV:  5-0.  Gragert excused.  Motion Carried.  The next regular meeting of the Board of Education will be held on Monday, September 12, 2016, at 7:00 p.m. in the high school library. 


                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                        Jennifer Hoffman, Secretary